top of page

Lichtenstein O'Clock!

I feel like these next few weeks could be condensed into one big blog post, especially considering its nearing the holiday term, and my work ethic has plummeted. So! From Nov 28th - Jan 8th. Heres what I did:

Firstly, I researched more into some ideas of the rubikscubism genre, and found that a lot of work is now screen printed, rather than being made out of physical rubiks cubes. This actually helped calm my obsession with trying to replicate things perfectly, because it means that now I can start to create my own rubikscubism palette pieces. I wanted to create something a bit bigger than my Monroe piece, which was 4 panels big, 2 wide, 2 longways. The Lichtenstein I chose to replicate was 'The Gun in America' - But use the 6 pallette colours instead of the bold contrasting colours in the original. Most of my December would then be spent organising yet another tub of perler beads in order to get the damned 6 colours. Then I would move on to making all 8 - yes EIGHT, panels that went into this gun piece. The whole process was absolutely boring and took up a solid week to just do a few panels. But the end piece is gorgeous - I stuck with the partially ironed and half taped technique once more, just to give it a bit more stability so that it's not as fragile as the Monroe perler piece.

If I could go back and recreate the piece, I'd try to conserve as many beads as possible - the fact that a 49x49 pannel has 2401 beads, - Over 19 thousand went into the final piece.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page